

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

61 BROADWAY, SUITE 1200 NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10006

646-386-4800 646-458-0037 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

April 4, 2017

Contacts:

Robert H. Tembeckjian, Administrator (646) 386-4800 Marisa E. Harrison, Public Records Officer (518) 453-4614

Hon. John A. Falk Appointed to Judicial Conduct Commission

Brighton Town Court Justice John A. Falk (Monroe County) has been appointed to the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct by Chief Judge Janet DiFiore for a term ending March 31, 2021.

Justice Falk is a graduate of LeMoyne College and the University of Dayton School of Law. He is a partner at the Faraci Lange law firm in Rochester, where he focuses on personal injury litigation. He previously served as an Assistant District Attorney in Monroe County prosecuting violent felony offenses. Justice Falk is a member of the American Board of Trial Advocates, the American Association for Justice, the New York State Trial Lawyers Association, the New York State Bar Association, the Monroe County Bar Association, the Genesee Valley Trial Lawyers Association, the New York State Magistrates Association, and the Monroe County Magistrates Association. He has been a lecturer for the Monroe County Bar Association and the Monroe Community College Police Academy and is active in the greater Rochester community, having served on such boards as the Western New York Chapter of the American Liver Foundation, the Town of Brighton Planning Board and the Parks and Recreation Citizens' Advisory Committee.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC RECORDS OFFICER Justice Falk succeeds Perinton Town Court Justice Thomas A. Klonick (Monroe County), whose third term on the Commission expired on March 31, 2017. Justice Klonick served on the Commission for twelve years, eight of them as chair.

Additional information on Justice Falk and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's website: www.cjc.ny.gov.

Background on the Commission

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (two of whom must be non-lawyers/non-judges), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each.

The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in New York City, Albany and Rochester.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2020
Paul B. Harding, Esq., Vice Chair	Assembly Minority Leader Brian M. Kolb	March 31, 2021
Hon. Rolando T. Acosta	Former Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2018
Joel Cohen, Esq.	Former Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver	March 31, 2018
Jodie Corngold	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2019
Hon. John A. Falk	Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2021
Taa R. Grays, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2020
Hon. Leslie G. Leach	Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2020
Richard A. Stoloff, Esq.	Former Senate President Pro Tem Dean Skelos	March 31, 2019
Hon. David A. Weinstein	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2018
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2021